India to Extend Visa-On-Arrival Facility to 180 Countries

Category: India, Travel News

Earlier this month, the Indian government announced that it would extend the tourist visa on arrival facility to boost the country’s tourism. Eight "prior reference" countries - Pakistan, Sudan, Afghanistan, Iran, Iraq, Nigeria, Sri Lanka tours and Somalia - have been excluded from the list.The plan is expected to be implemented from October. By the end of 2014, citizens of 180 countries will be able to get an Indian tourist visa on arrival at nine airports including Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai, Cochin, Hyderabad, Goa and Trivandrum airports. More airports may be added to the list, such as Goa and Amritsar airports. Take advantage of India Visa-on-arrival policy and plan your India trip now!

The Indian tourist visa-on-arrival scheme was first introduced in India on January 1, 2010. Last October, the visa on arrival facility was reported to be extended to travelers from about 40 countries including US, UK, Canada, Brazil, Australia, Germany, France, Italy, Sweden, the Netherlands, Switzerland, Spain, Belgium, Austria, Denmark, Poland, Norway, Ireland, UAE, Saudi Arabia and other countries. Currently, tourists from 11 countries have already had visa on arrival access: Cambodia, Finland, Japan, Laos, Luxembourg, Myanmar, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore, Indonesia and Vietnam. Tourists from other countries still need to get a visa before arriving in India till the plan is taken effect. Meanwhile, the tourist visa on arrival would be valid for a single entry for a period of up to 30 days and could not be extended.

According to reports, to get a visa on arrival in India, tourists will need to apply at least 3 days before departure on the designated website set up by Bureau of Immigration and pay before travelling. They would receive an electronic version of the visa/travel authorization within 2-3 working days. Once in India, they need to undergo a biometric identification to get the visa, which will be a single entry visa that is valid for 30 days from the date of entry and could not be renewed. It travelers need to enter India for two times, it's better to apply a double entry or multiple entry visa in advance than to get a visa on arrival.

News update: India E-Visa Facility (Tourist Visa-on Arrival Enabled with ETA) Now Available for 43 Countries

Indian visa on arrival

  • Related posts
  • Most read posts
More posts >>

Sign up to our newsletter

Get latest deals, giveaways & tips delivered straight to your inbox once or twice a month! You can unsubscribe at any time. Your information will be treated with respect.

Email address is not valid.
Check this box to continue.

Posts Update

More posts >>

Quick Question

Travelers (age 7+):
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
Age 2 - 6
Age below 2
  • - Title -
  • Mr
  • Ms
Send Inquiry
Reply within 24hrs
We take your privacy very seriously.
See more